The 2017 All Wales Striking Competition was held in the Abergavenny area on Saturday 30th September. As usual, the 6 Bell Competiton was held between tower-bands representing the four Welsh territorial Guilds and Associations and the 8 Bell Competition bands were selected from amongst their membership.The 6 Bell Competition was held at Llantilio Pertholey and the 8 Bell on the back eight at Abergavenny.

The event was combined with some fun activities which included a rather devious Treasure Hunt devised by Jonathan Lewis and concluded with a Fish & Chip Supper which as attended by over 50 people from across the four Guilds and Associations.

The judges for the day were Richard Clements and Roman Sadowski, who were both fair and accurate in their summing up of the performances and with whom the churchyard pundits were in very broad agreement. They scored the two competitions as follows:

8-Bell Competition (in order of ringing)
1. Llandaff & Monmouth DACBR 21 faults
2. North Wales Association 44 faults
3. Swansea & Brecon Guild 51 faults
4. St David's Guild 62 faults

6-Bell Competition (in order of ringing)
1. Swansea & Brecon Guild 51 faults
2 St David's Guild 47 faults
3 Llandaff & Monmouth DACBR 35 faults
4 North Wales Association 21 faults

Congratulations to the Llandaff & Monmouth and North Wales Associations and to everyone who took part.

With grateful thanks to our judges, to Matthew Turner, David Moore, Debbie Turner and Jonathan Lewis for their successful organisational efforts and the incumbents and authorities at Abergavenny and Llantilio Pertholey for their hospitality. Thanks, too, to the bevvy of helpers at Llantilio Pertholey for providing tea and cake in the church and to all those who helped in the kitchen at the church hall.

The 2018 Competitions will be hosted by the Swansea & Brecon Guild on the last Saturday in September, venue to be confirmed.

Click on the pictures below to open a larger image. Original images available from the Webmaster upon request.

Photo: Mary Hardy presenting the Jack Pryor Trophy to Neil Bennett of Welshpool (North Wales Association):

Neil Bennett with Mary Hardy

Photo: John Vesey, Chairman of Llandaff & Monmouth DACBR, receiving the 8 Bell competition Trophy from the judges:

 8 Bell Competition Winners

No comments

We use cookies
This website relies on session cookies to provide much of its functionality. By using our website with cookies enabled in your browser, you are consenting to our use of cookies. If you decline the use of cookies on this site then your viewing experience will be inhibited and you will not be able to login, etc.